Archives For author







Tonight the Art Directors Club will induct the 2010 class of its Hall of Fame at a gala ceremony in New York. Founded in 1971, the Hall of Fame honors innovators who have made significant contributions to art direction and visual communication. The Hall of Fame membership represents a “who’s who” of design and advertising and is meant to serve as an inspiration to the creative community.






The designers have also created a series of cards to be given away at the gala that feature their selection of epigrammatic statements about art and design from 10 past laureates including Saul Bass, Paul Rand, Massimo Vignelli, Annie Leibovitz and Seymour Chwast.

Carter Sans was donated by Monotype and gala ticket holders will receive a free advance copy of the typeface. The font will be available in January from and


Project Team: Michael Bierut, partner-in-charge and designer; Joe Marianek, designer.
Carter Sans designed by Matthew Carter. Printing by Meridian. Paper donated by Mohawk.
Photos by Joe Marianek.